Internet Privacy

Internet Privacy 2017-09-26T18:00:13+00:00

Internet Privacy

If you share a computer with your abuser, you should delete the browsing history after you have visited our site. Please be cautious about clearing all your cache and history files. If your abuser tries to revisit a site they were on previously and realizes their passwords and information have been cleared, they will know that the history has been deleted. To be safe, you should use a computer at a library, a friend’s house or at work.

  • Select the Tools menu.
  • Select Internet Options.
  • Select the General tab.
  • In the middle section, Temporary Internet Files click Delete Files.
  • In the bottom section History click Clear History.
  • Click on Tools in the top menu.
  • Click on Clear Private Data.
  • When the window pops up make sure all boxes are checked off.
  • Click OK to erase history.
  • Click on Tools and then Preferences.
  • Click on the Advanced tab and then the History section on the left-hand side.
  • Click the Clear button to the right of Addresses and the Empty Now button to the right of Disk Cache.
  • Go to the Safari menu at top left-hand screen.
  • Choose Reset Safari and click Reset.
  • Click the Tools menu.
  • Select Options.
  • Click the Under the Hood tab.
  • Click Clear browsing data.
  • Select the Clear browsing history checkbox.
  • Use the Clear data from this period menu to select the amount of data you want to delete.
  • Click Clear browsing data.

Toolbars

Toolbars such as Google and Yahoo keep a record of the search words you have typed into the toolbar search box. In order to erase all the search words, you have typed in, follow the instructions below.

Google – Click on the Google icon and choose “Clear Search History”.

Yahoo – Click the Settings tab or Pencil icon to see the Settings menu. Select Clear Recent Searches.